Daytime visits to Washington, D.C.

Homeschooling the kids for the year was a success, though I do have to admit, having them in day camp for the summer is making me reconsider. For one, I have the whole day to myself, free to run errands and work on some freelance editing work that I’m very behind on. Also, the girls seem to be having fun. Not that they don’t have fun learning at home, and not that they don’t get plenty of social time, with the “homeschool school” and other group activities and playdates that they’re always busy with. I guess before I make any drastic decisions (the plan is to homeschool for one more year) I should remember that camp is always more fun than school, right? Anyways, the nicest thing about summer so far is that I’m free to go into Washington, D.C. and meet Rick for lunch. I’ve actually been going almost everyday, bringing some work with me so I can sit away from the distractions of home and focus, and visiting some museums while I’m in the area. I’ve been enjoying the alone time, but I do miss my girls!

My Washington, D.C. travels so far have brought me to museum classics like:
National Gallery of Art
National Portrait Gallery
National Building Museum
Phillips Collection
Folger Shakespeare Library
Library of Congress
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

I’ve been to all of these before, but usually with other people and it’s nice to go at my own pace.

Rick has only two business trips planned this summer. One to San Antonio, Texas that I think we (the girls and I) may skip (I’m not sure I can deal with the heat down there), and one to Minneapolis, which coincides perfectly with the end of camp. So, more about that later!

Leave a Reply

